eating, homemaking

Canning Peaches

It’s late August and the weather is still hot. But you’re itchin’ for the fall and the nesting that comes along with it.
What is a girl to do? Can peaches of course…and pears if that’s your thing.

This method is how my Gram canned, how she taught my mom to can, and how I learned. In my world, this is the only other way to eat peaches after the summer is over.

Start with fresh peaches. I get mine at a local farm. Wash all the fuzz off.
Prepare your stations.
Peel. Pit. Pour.
Boil baby boil.
Poke a peach to see it it's done. (I like mine to be a little firm still when you poke through.
Stack peaches in a hot jar. Fill with juice to the top. Get the bubbles out. Wipe the rim with a hot rag. Seal with hot lid and ring. The lid will ping when it's sealed.
Fruits of our labor. And we hope they last all year long.

_________________________________________________

I shared this post at:

 

Leave a Reply

