flashback friday, memories

flashback friday // forever and ever amen

When you’re a kid…you just act silly and people laugh. My sis and I did that a lot for our parents. And one night we wanted to show them how much we loved them so we sang a song.
Yup, that’s a spoon wrapped in tin foil that I’m singing into. I really wish I had the pic of both of us but I think my mom already scrapped it. So I just have this one but wow…it was the 80’s for real and I was 8.

Yeah, and I’m not evenΒ embarrassed.

But we really did have fun singing Forever and Ever Amen by Randy Travis. Can you see the cowboy on the horse back there on the tv with the bunny ears? Yup, Daddy’s a true cowboy and we wanted to be just like him. Donning his hats (and a swatch watch of course), we belted our hearts out for them.

You may think that im talking foolish
You’ve heard that im wild and im free
You may wonder how I can promise you now
This love that i feel for you always will be
But your not just time that im killing
I’m no longer one of those guys
As sure as i live, this love that i give
Is gonna be yours until the day that i die

(Chorus)
Oh baby im gonna love you forever
Forever and ever amen
As long as old men sit&talk about the weather
As long as old women sit&talk about old men
If you wonder how long ill be faithful
I’ll be happy to tell you again
I’m gonna love you forever and ever
Forever and ever amen

They say time takes its toll on a body
Makes a young girls brown hair turn gray
Honey i don’t care i ain’t in love with your hair
N if it all fell out well i’d love you anyway
They say time can play tricks on a memory
Make people forget things they knew
Well it’s easy to see it’s happenin to me
I’ve already forgotten every woman but you

(Chorus)
Oh darlin I’m gonna love you forever
Forever and ever amen
As long as old men sit&talk about the weather
As long as old women sit&talk about old men
If you wonder how long i’ll be faithful
Just listen to how this song ends
I’m gonna love you forever and ever
Forever and ever amen

I’m gonna love you forever and ever
Forever and ever
Forever and ever
Forever and ever amen

 

We really do love our folks this much. They are retired now; loving their kayaks, ATVs and their golf games. Closer then ever, I count on them to help me through my own parenting struggles and always there for my family, no matter what.

Not the type to be on the computer everyday so they’ll probably never read this but I will love them forever and ever. Amen.

I’m all linked up at:

1 thought on “flashback friday // forever and ever amen”

Leave a Reply

