fashion, making do, stuff i like

chain link love

Completely inspired by this necklace from Rebecca at My Girlish Whims, I knew I could pull this off. Having never made my own jewelry (besides the fabric button rings), I needed something simple. And even though I took some shortcuts and eliminated some cost by doing so, and I think it turned out to be super bomb.com! But pardon the oog-a-lay pic of me…it’s Sunday.

So I wore it to work today but had to take a pic with my phone in the bathroom cause there was no good light at my house thanks to the sun being hidden behind dark clouds all day. Sorry about the crappy quality.

I found 3 different (but similar) chain link strands from Wal-mart for $4 each. The two thick ones were the perfect size but the skinny one had a lot so I just cut it to the length I wanted.

The black silk ribbon was $2 and I know I’ll use it for something else.

Once the lengths were how I wanted them, I attached them together at each end with the jump rings that were already on the strands.

I cut the ribbon to size and made a small ‘hem’ using hot glue.

More hot glue! I basically just hot glued the two ends to the backside of the ribbon ends like crazy (but not too crazy) until I felt there was enough to support the weight of all the chains. (The thick one is pretty heavy).

I opted not to permanently secure a flower to it so that I could change the look if I wanted with random flowers/clips I already have. I am pretty sure I can   \m/>.<\m/   R.O.C.K.star this look

or clip a cute fabric flower to one side to doll it up a bit.

It’s my very first DIY necklace and I am pleased as punch.

I’m also jazzed that I can check this off my DIY list!

I’m all linked up:

Momma Go Round      All Things Heart and Home    Today's Creative Blog

6 thoughts on “chain link love”

  1. Hey there! I’ve been reading your website for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

