fashion, making do, repourposing, sewing, stuff i like

fabric flower sash

Right now, I have NO MONEY for new clothes. Paying off debt and trying to keep what we have is preventing me from having much needed shopping money. This means I have to spice up the clothes I have so I don’t feel like I’m wearing the same old things.

So when I saw this beautiful flower sash by The Pleated Poppy I knew I had to try it for myself.

So here’s my version:

I picked up 5 coordinating fat quarters from Walmart for $1.25 each.  I used buttons and black felt from my own stash. Oh and hot glue. I was a hot {glue} mess this weekend!

 

I cut out all the fabrics in various sized circles and then just started making flowers: big, small, scrunchy, layered. When I figured it was enough I laid it out and decided where I wanted each piece. Contemplating what color was missing on this end and if that flower needed a button center.

I was quite pleased so I cut a strip of black felt and began hot gluing each flower piece to it.

Then I flipped it over and secured a few of the corners and edges and snipped away any flet that was exposed.

Since there are at least 2 items I currently plan to wear this with, I decided to add hair clips to the back so I can easily attach and detach it from this sash or any other belt.


I’m all linked up:

Momma Go Round      All Things Heart and Home       Today's Creative Blog  Thirty Hand Made Days

 Tidy Mom

25 thoughts on “fabric flower sash”

  1. I love this! I really need to try and do this, I could use these for headbands and clips for my girls hair and I could see a necklace in my future! Love the colors and prints you picked out.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog also, I love when people leave comments.

    Kacy

    1. I have made about 5 flowers as clips for my hair and headbands. They are so easy to make. YES, with the necklace! I;ve seen so many of the bib necklaces and would love to learn to make different flowers along the way.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. When I saw that belt on the Pleated Poppy, I prayed she would teach us how to make one but alas, she didn’t. You have totally made my dreams come true with this tutorial! Seriously. I want to make one so badly and you have shown me the way! Mine probably won’t be quite as cute as yours but I’m going to give it a whirl!
    Thanks so much for the awesome tutorial; you are seriously one of my faves!

    1. Yay! I’m so glad you like it…great minds right? I CANNOT WAIT to see how yours turns out! I plan on wearing mine on Wednesday so I’ll be sure to take pics…you better too!!! Let me know if you have questions along the way!

  3. I too loved when I saw Lindsey wearing this last week on Pleated Poppy, it is so darn cute and does not look too hard to make!!!
    Kudos for making it and having it turn out cute too!!!

    here from Momma go Round

  4. This is so cute, you did an awesome job on it. The colors and designs are fun and bright just like you. I can’t wait to see your picture on Weds. wearing it.

    1. Great tutorial on your blog. I’ve been trying to leave you a comment but it doesn’t seem to want to work for me. So here it is! Love the pic of you with it in your hair…so CUTE!!!! Loving everything else on your blog too!

    1. AHHHHHHH, NO WAY!!
      Thanks girl, really, this is way cool! I have been loving your site and am absolutely ecstatic when someone as cool as you likes something I made! WOOT!

      {huuugs}
      andrea

Leave a Reply

