fashion, making do, repourposing

striped shirt skirt

Can you buy skirts this cute for $7? Yeah, maybe…but where’s the fun in that?

When I saw this tutorial for a shirt skirt, i fell madly in love. I wish a had elastic thread like she did, but i didn’t so I had to make do with what i had. I really like hers through, for the tummy coverage, so hopefully i can find elastic thread so I can make it her way next time.

but here’s how I did it:


I bought this ladies XL tank at Walmart for $7.

I cut the shirt at the bottom of the sleeves to make a square.

I sewed a top hem, then a second line under it, leaving a small opening.

I attached a safety pin to the end of the elastic to guide it between the two stitch lines. Once it was the right size to fit and stretch, i stitched the leading end into place, then stitched the end in place and sealed up the hole.


and here it is: i gotta tell you, it’s super comfy. I ran errands in it all day and wore it thru dinner and bath time.  i certainly plan on making many more shirt skirts for the summer.  i also swiped one of my hubby’s old white t-shirts and made a slip the exact same way. this will allow me to wear it under any of these i make.


oh yeah, the bonus is how perfect they are with these shoes.

I’m all linked up:

     All Things Heart and Home       Today's Creative Blog  Thirty Hand Made Days  Tidy Mom  Photobucket Sumo Sweet StuffAnything Related  Weekend Bloggy Reading

11 thoughts on “striped shirt skirt”

  1. Way to go on making your skirt. What a fun idea and how great to use a tank top, super cheap and feels great I bet. The color is good too and I love that you have matching shoes. YOU GO GIRL!!

  2. That is awesome! I love it. I think I might have to try to make this. Thank you for the idea. I am visiting from Sumo’s sweet stuff linky party come and say hi
    tyandwhitneyulrich.blogspot.com

  3. thanks for commenting on my blog. I’m loving this weather too. I had forgotten how fun it is to wear skirts. I may have to try this with some tees. It’s so cute and flirty. Sort of personal question maybe, but did the material seem thick enough to avoid VPL and that sort of thing?

    1. :/ VPL? I think you might mean was it see through?
      I actually made a slip for it from a white tee so that it was not see through. I am soooo uncomfortable with skirts like that so making the slip was a must. AND…it doesn’t add bulkiness and feels just as comfy!
      Hope I answered your question! =)

  4. That is awesome! I love the green stripes and I love that it is knit, means its nice and comfy for the summer. Something I will have to make soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

