fashion

retrohipmama style // having fun and better pictures

Hello to my beautiful bloggy friends! Hope your weeks were good. I can’t complain about mine other than it seemed to draaaaaaag on forever. This 3-day weekend just wouldn’t get here.

But I managed and also found some cute outfits to wear.

MONDAY

*disclaimer* Today was the first day I asked Gibson to take my photo outside so he wasn’t making sure I was ready so I could pose or smile. I think I was telling him to hold the shutter down halfway to let it focus…but this is what we got. =D
We’re working on it and I think he’s getting better. Glad that I have him because I was getting tired of the ridiculously dark and drab pics I was taking in my bedroom.

Upcycled ruffle shirt: made by me
White corduroy flares: have had them forever. they are so old that the pockets in the back keep wearing out and I keep stitching them back together. I love these pants
Black flats: payless
Ball and chain necklace: made by me


TUESDAY

Man this was a good day! Gibson’s last week of school and his end of the year school pool party took us to the Aquatic Center. Now, when I say us…I mean me and this awesome chick. You have that friend who you haven’t known each other all your lives but it feels like you do? You just connect on a sister level? You may not talk every day or even every week but when you get together it’s like you were never apart? That’s me and Jennifer. I just love this girl!


Every year, we plan for this day as our little play date. She finds a place for her two young girls and little Marshall stays home with daddy. This is our uninterrupted time to chat and hang out. So from 9am to 1pm, I take off work and meet her here while our boys jump off diving boards and flail themselves into the heated pools.

Only reaching 72 degrees, today was a bit warmer than last year and I ended up with a nice little burn…but that will tan later.

Here’s what I wore:

Striped tank: Walmart
Capri jeans: who knows
Black flip-flops: Old Navy
Pink bracelet: Target
Earrings: just my everyday $5 studs

 
THURSDAY

A work function forced me to wear something nice today.

Black slacks: Kohl’s and hemmed like a pro by my momma
Purple plaid pleated shirt: Kohl’s
Grey cardi: Mervyn’s I think…forever ago.
Earrings: Target a few years ago

 
As always: linking up to Real Momma, Real Style and What I Wore Wednesdays at The Pleated Poppy

15 thoughts on “retrohipmama style // having fun and better pictures”

  1. Great outfits! But that ruffled shirt is my favorite!! Can’t believe you made it yourself.

    I am not handy at ALL! 🙂

    Hope you and your family have a wonderful Memorial Day!

    Followed you here from Real Momma, Real Style.

    Jeanine

  2. These are so awesome outfits this week. The ruffled shirt and necklace you made are my favorite and I think you look good in the photos. He’s doing a good job at picture taking. How fun to have a friend like that and I’m so jealous that your kid gets a pool party at the end of school. We don’t get anything, clean out desk, do last papers, maybe play extra outside but that’s it. I like the colors of your tank top. The last outfit is pretty and dressy, gotta love those dress up days, lol. You are great at finding new outfits every week, that’s great. Hope it was a happy Monday for you.

  3. Love your outfits, super cute. That ruffled shirt is adorable! I also love your necklace you made. I am starting to feel inspired to upcycle some of my clothes.

  4. I love your outfits! You look so so cute. Hmm, sometimes I get a little annoyed too when a work function caused me to dress up. 🙂

  5. I love your white flare cords! I can’t believe you’ve had them that long and they’re not all stained up (my luck with pants so far). Great outfit, and so is your work function one. I remember Mervyns! “Open, open, open” ha ha. Actually that’s only funny if you remember the commercials 🙂 Thanks for your comment on my blog!

Leave a Reply

