how to wear a bandanna

don’t think i ever shared this little post i did for a guest post over at Boerman Ramblings. in case you missed it…enjoy!

there’s always photography going on over there and it’s mostly of my kids and craftiness i’ve whipped up. i mostly use what i have on hand for my projects and this guide is no exception. I’m gonna show you how you can take a bandanna to get 4 different looks.

ready? cool, let’s go!

bandannas are all over the place these days. I like vintage and retro looking ones as well as the traditional print. go with what you like for sure. i find cute ones at wal-mart for under $2 each.

for all of these styles, you will start by folding your bandanna into a triangle, puling one corner over to it’s opposite corner.

for the first style, start at the folded end and fold up about 1 & 1/2 to 2 inches, twice. or more depending on how much length you want hanging over the back.

place the folded side to you head and tie the ends under your hair. i like to leave my bangs exposed but you can do anything you want.

this is typically how i wear it if i’m doing housework. pretty housewifey of me, right?

this one starts the same way. but make folds at both the bottom and the tip. i try to make this one about 1 & 1/2 inch wide because my hair is short and the width makes my hair puff out underneath and i try to avoid that.

place the folded part under your hair and make a double tie at the top, i like to make it a bit to the side for a retro pin-up look.


 similar to the housewife look, this one is a bit shorter in length and is good for wearing with your hair up.


 last one and is a variation of the pinup look. hair up in a pony and bangs pinned back also. but tuck the ends under so they don’t stick out.

 

so there it is! that’s what i got!

thanks again to Chrissy for letting me come over. hope everyone enjoyed the ideas and can put them to use while the weather is still hot!

smiles, andrea (retrohipmama)

See ya over at Real Momma, Real StyleNo Model Lady and What I Wore Wednesdays at The Pleated Poppy.

5 thoughts on “how to wear a bandanna

  1. gin says:

    Oh I think you are the cutest! I have been so MIA lately but don’t think I haven’t forgotten about you! Thank you so much for your kind words on my blog; they are so appreciated given that I’ve seriously neglected my blog lately. I can’t wait to try some of these looks!

  2. Jeanine Byers Hoag @ Dressing My Truth says:

    Wow, I’m really impressed with how great those bandanas looked on you! And you added them in such creative ways. Those pics are so cute!

    My head is so sensitive, unfortunately, that I can barely stand hair flowers without getting a headache. But if I could, I would try out your suggestions.

    I followed you here from Real Momma, Real Style.

    Jeanine

Leave a Reply

