december daily: preparation

looks like i’ve committed myself to another photo challenge.

ali edwards’ december daily project is one i’ve wanted to do for years but was always too busy during this special month. this year will be different. this year will be savored. this year will be documented. this year will be enjoyed.

taking a few cues from ali’s prior albums, i decided that i had a ton of supplies to grab from my stash and then made my own templates like she used last year. here is how i am prepping this album so i can just print pictures and journal about the days:

printed my daily sheets on cardstock, 2-up. cut them in half to make each page 8.5 x 5.5.

i gathered my stash of paper, scraps, stickers, rub-ons and embellishments.

once i picked the cardstock, i cut them into 8.5 x 5.5 sheets until i got 25 different patterns.

here is how each layout looks now. i can add more embellishments once i know what pics will go on this. i will also use some 8.5 x 5.5 sheet protectors and stitch them into smaller sections to fit small pics and trinkets i plan to collect. i’ll either use the big blank space on the right for pics or journaling.

the next step will be to punch all the holes and then stitch the sheet protectors.

so here’s a sneak peek of some of my favorite page layouts.

i worked on putting them together all afternoon during marshall’s nap and in between dinner and baths and trains and a little backyard fun. kinda proud that i finished all 25 days. this means there will be no excuses for not filling this album up with pictures and words. i promise to complete this album before the end of the year. i’m pinky promising myself right now!

i nterested in documenting your december? ali has so many cool posts detailed instructions/suggestions and there’s also a flickr group to grab inspiration from.

12 thoughts on “december daily: preparation

  1. dawn says:

    I’m soooo excited your doing this too. What a great job you’ve done so far, so many fun colors and PP you picked. I will cheer you on during this month and keep you motivated to finish it. This is really a special and treasured album when it’s all done, I still loooove mine. Way to go on gettting so much done today too.

  2. Andi (@udandi) says:

    Smart thinking! I’ll be looking forward to your updates since you pinky swore to yourself πŸ˜‰

    I wonder if I could get my rear in gear and do something similar? I’ve always wanted to try this and I’ve been on a quest this year to use what I have (before shopping for more – it’s like retro craft time).

  3. Mary R. says:

    I love what you have done so far. This will be my first year doing DD. You have inspired me to get busy NOW!! LOL
    Keep up the good work.

  4. mindingmomma says:

    I’m thinking about doing this too, but not getting myself in gear. How did you talk yourself into being ready to make the pages?

    • retrohipmama says:

      Hey there, i sure hope you can get inspired to start on it! I guess it’s easy for me since I’m reallllly looking forward to Christmas, almost so much that I’m slightly overlooking Halloween and Thanksgiving. =) It was super fun to comb thru all my Christmas scraps and challenge myself to use pieces that weren’t traditionally Christmasy looking.
      Just put yourself there for an hour and it might help get you started. Good luck!

  5. Ruth says:

    I’m attempting dd the first time this year! I’ve just set up my foundation bit. I’m very impressed that you’ve used yellows and blues and they really work!

  6. Elsi says:

    I’m also using 5.5×8.5 inches for my December Daily book. Where are you finding the sheet protectors that size? I’d *LOVE* to use them to protect the pages.

    • retrohipmama says:

      Hey there gee-elsi! thanks for stopping by! i get my protectors at amazon.com. it’s a simple search and they are super reasonably priced. my box just arrived yesterday actually!
      enjoy your december daily!

Leave a Reply

