christmas, flashback friday, graphic design

flashback friday: christmas cards through the years

ahhh the obligatory christmas card. i have always liked making my own. obviously i’m a designer so it’s an excuse to make something cute. also, the store bought ones just ain’t muh thang.

some years we’ve been broke and we didn’t send cards. last year i only emailed my digital card and posted it to facebook. the year before, i actually addressed envelopes and adhered stamps and snail-mailed those bad boys.

regardless, i always seem to make one. and i spend hours of my “free time” getting inspired. but once i make my decision on what i want…i do it.

so check out the last few years of cards:

[2009]

i picked a design from samsclub’s online photo center, imported a couple pics and had them printed. they come with the envelopes as you know, but hand addressing them was NOT fun.

[2010]

saw this picture idea somewhere and it took me some practice shots before i pulled the family in for the shot. i edited the color a bit to add vibrance and i added my own sentiment all within photoshop.

[2011]

i am patting myself on the back for this one. i found a free digital add-on kit at twopeas and knew at first sight, that i’d use it for this years’ card. the pic was taken at thanksgiving and i edited it to add contrast and glow.

lots of awesome colors and fonts make this one my favorite of ALL TIME. makes ya sing the song, right?

how do you say MERRY CHRISTMAS to your friends and family?

7 thoughts on “flashback friday: christmas cards through the years”

  1. YOU ARE SO AMAZING AND FUN!! I LOVE LOVE ALL OF THEM BECAUSE THEY ARE NEW TO ME BUT THIS YEARS IS THE COOLEST AND REALLY REMINDS ME OF WHO YOU ARE RIGHT NOW. THE COLORS AND THE WHITE ARE HIP AND COOL LIKE YOU MY DEAR.

    I LOVE GIVING CARDS AND NO NO NO CAN’T MAKE THEM. HAVE TRIED AND ALWAYS FAIL SO I BUY THEM WITH CARE AND LOVE SO THAT COUNTS FOR SOMETHING.

    I’M SO GLAD WE ARE SHARING THIS ALL THE FUN HOLIDAY STUFF THIS YEAR TOGETHER!!

  2. AHHHH, I LOVE this years card!!! I used to ALWAYS send them out snail mail style, but last year we went to Disneyland right before Christmas and so I ditched the cards completely. This year I think I’m going to do the whole e-mail/FACEBOOK those bad boys!

  3. these are awesome. the pic with your reflection in the ornament is genius. i came back to poke around for more pix of your advent calendar because I am TOTALLY stealing it. Even if I’m a wee bit late. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

