one little word

my one little word for twenty twelve: ENJOY

en·joy [en-joi]

verb

1. to experience with joy; take pleasure in
2. to have and use with satisfaction; have the benefit of
3. to find or experience pleasure
 Pinned Image
i need this word. i need to feel this word so much more than i have been. seeing the bright side of life has always been easy for me. but lately, i don’t feel like i’m really enjoying my blessings and struggles. i might say ‘yeah, we’ll gt through it’ or ‘hey, we’re better off today than we were yesterday.’ it’s true. all of these things are true. i don’t have a mansion or gees, even a clean house most of the time. we still have to count our pennies and we just might have to do that until the day we die, who knows. well, God knows and i think he’s got great things planned for us. but i cannot concern myself with that so much as i need to enjoy my right now. it’s only now, like, right now…oop, there it went! did i enjoy that? hell yes i did! and i’m going to enjoy it all.
i’m going to enjoy using lysol wipes to clean toddler poop from the bathroom wall. no seriously, if i don’t enjoy that then i’d be crying that i have a primate for a son.
i’m going to enjoy the crumbs on the floor and the piece of lego that’s been in the hallway for a week that everyone just walks right past. because like everyone says, ‘one day they won’t be there and you’ll miss it’. well that may be true but i damn sure bet i’ll enjoy it when they’re gone too…i’m just not exactly ready for that chapter in my life.
so for now, i will enjoy my life and all that is placed in front of me. enjoy the blessings and the struggles. i know there will be both.
for inspiration, i created a pinterest board for my one little word. come check it out and follow me if you don’t already. i’ll totally follow ya back!

10 thoughts on “my one little word for twenty twelve: ENJOY”

  1. Just had to leave you a note:) I found your blog from Fancy Little Things. I saw the content post and I love this post too! I’ve been struggling with being truly content and enjoying my life right now too. But I just enjoyed your blog for like the last hour! Love your style and that you have two boys (me too:) Actually, I pretty much loved everything!
    Heather

  2. This is a great word for you, hope it takes you where you need to go in 2012. I will be here to ENJOY this journey with you. I keep telling myself to enjoy all these little moments too, even the bad moments, the lack of money, the sibling fights and everything in between. When I stop and listen hard enough I see the good stuff too and I DON’T WANT TO MISS A MINUTE OF IT.

    Happy New Years to you and your family. Have fun and be safe whatever you do. Let’s make this our best year ever.

    hugs and love from me
    p.s. love all your ideas on pinterest, awesome and I might need to copy some of them for me.

  3. yea!!! 🙂 i think that is an excellent word!!! we were having a discussion just last night at a little crop about our 2012 words & two girls were wanting something similiar to what you are conveying & enjoy never came out of our mouths! good for you! 🙂 (i love that you created a board… i did too!) see ya in 2012 missy!!!

  4. love the word choice!and loving the idea of the pinterest board for it! my word is dream and i am so going to do the pinterest board idea as well! am following you now on google reader so i can follow your journey as you enjoy! also following you on pinterest…so glad i found you via the one little word challenge . janexxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

