one little word

one little word 2015 // nourish

it always amazes me how easily i can settle on a word. all of my previous words, enjoy, go. do. be., strong – all very meaningful, comfortable and somewhat easy to execute.

but when i began to think of a word for twenty-fifteen, the words i wanted were not as easy to hold on to.

the purpose of this project – for me – is to grow. to take a part of myself that is weak and strengthen it. now, i’m pretty good with knowing my weaknesses, but admitting them and actually working toward changing is a difficult thing. it’s hard to be uncomfortable. it’s a struggle to change something that has been normal for more time than you can recall.

but isn’t change supposed to be good? isn’t growth amazing when we can actually see the harvest? this is what my goal is with my word for twenty-fifteen. and even though for the first few days, i tried to change my word to make myself more comfortable, in the end i ended up back here. thankfully.

IMG_4137

 

you see, naturally, i’m not the nurturing type. i mean, i am nurturing as in i care deeply for people. and i can be very sensitive and sentimental. but sometimes – er, most times – i can’t make that translation from mental to physical. thinking of/doing for others first is rare. so without making this a therapy session, i know this about myself and want to be a better person, ie: wife, mom, woman, friend.

we’ve heard that before, right? shoot – we’ve all said it before. and what i love about ali edwards’ concept of one little wordΒ is that WE CAN make these changes in our lives.

if you’re unsure about this project, check out her video! yours truly even makes a quick appearance! πŸ™‚

so here is my plan:

i wrote my word and it’s two definitions.
then i wrote out synonyms for my word so i can look up quotes, ideas and actions that revolve around my word.
next – because i have to make a list – i wrote out the main things in my life i want to nourish. and i got specific. within each topic i wrote a few actions to get me thinking about ways to nourish these areas.
then i found a quote i pinned and wrote it at the bottom. this is my brainstorm and jumping off point to make some sort of action plan for the year.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/404/14870510/files/2014/12/img_4634.jpg

my next step was to jump on pinterest and begin collecting quotes, lists, activities and inspirational items that encourage and nourish my direction. you can see my one little word pinterest board here.

here are a few that struck me right away.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/404/14870510/files/2014/12/img_4613.jpgΒ /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/404/14870510/files/2014/12/img_4618.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/404/14870510/files/2014/12/img_4615.jpgΒ /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/404/14870510/files/2014/12/img_4614.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/404/14870510/files/2014/12/img_4616.jpg/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/404/14870510/files/2014/12/img_4620.jpg

 

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/404/14870510/files/2014/12/img_4617.jpgΒ /home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/404/14870510/files/2014/12/img_4622.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/404/14870510/files/2014/12/img_4619.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/404/14870510/files/2014/12/img_4621.jpg

 

i will need toΒ develop specific action plans for each area i want to nourish and i’m not sure yet how that will look. what i’m also unsure of is how i will measure my results. resolutions usually have a checkbox attached to them and with most goals, we want to see tangible results. but i think concepts like this help us to develop ourselves over time, instead of just checking something off your list.

as with most of my words, they continue to live on and are always visible. making my word visible is something i will need help with. hopefully i can get signed up for ali’s class soon. and over the course of the year i hope to enjoy whole foods again, see improved communication between the boys, a stronger bond in my marriage, more time spent in worship and another workshop under my belt.

here’s to another year of growth!

andrea πŸ™‚

 

 

4 thoughts on “one little word 2015 // nourish”

  1. Hello there! Your new look here is gorgeous, white and gorgeous, LOVE IT!

    So happy for you and your new word, such a good word and good plans for it. You are so good at having plans and being ready, GO ANDREA!!

    Wishing you a wonderful year of growth, love, fun and dreams come true.
    I would say 2014 was amazing for us both friend, so let’s do it again!

  2. Wonderful plan! You got this! Tangible is tough when your word is emotional but seeing it flourish will show you the checkbox:). Happy Happy 2015!!!

  3. Hey Andrea!! You’ve inspired me to take on this task. I love your encouraging spirit!! My word is “determine”. I am determine to really improve many aspects of my world. I’m heading to write out my list and plan. I will share! Thank you and I’m with you on your ride to “nourish” your life!!!

Leave a Reply

