watercolor

watercolor mother’s day card // a process video

Happy monday friends! How did everyone enjoy iNSD? I did accomplish some scrapbooking, but felt compelled to do a little something else.

Mother’s Day is coming up and I need to send a little something to my mama. We both love watercoloring and when we get together, it’s something we like to do together.

I found a beautiful watercolor card by Yao Cheng for The Alison Show on pinterest and really wanted to attempt to recreate something similar. I used her design as a guide to freehand a Mother’s Day card for my mom.

free mother's day stationery

It’s funny, when I see other artist’s watercolor flowers, I always think to myself how amazingly realistic each blob of color looks. The dimension and shading. And when I create my own flowers, I think how it just looks like a pretty blob of color that looks similar to a flower petal if you squint just right. πŸ™‚

watercolorcard

 

So here is my attempt and honestly, I really love watercolor and the freedom it gives me! Watch the process video here:

I hope she likes it! πŸ™‚

 

CREDITS:
http://thealisonshow.com/2013/05/free-mothers-day-printable-stationary.html
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/107101297365319446/

Leave a Reply

