tutorial, videos

Print at Home Process // UPDATED + free template

photo-feb-06-1-39-49-pm

Hey Crafty Babes!

For 2017 I decided to start printing my photos at home exclusively and have a fun video that takes you through my process from phone to desk. I bought a Canon Pixma iX6820 in December and I have loved having easy access to printing without having to wait for a lab to ship them and also I don’t have to pay for shipping. 

I have not done the precise pricing calculations to compare printing online versus printing at home. What I do know is that the printer is purchased, I have plenty of ink and the photo paper is readily available and I don’t have to spend money each month to print. I know that some would say that I am spending money on printing because I’m using the supplies, but when money is tight I can still print and don’t have to wait until I have money to spend. For me, that’s what sealed the deal. I want my photos and I want them now! LOL!

I’ve seen so many discussions about how complicated it can be and it’s so much research to just get started. Then how do I get the most use out of my paper? What program is best? It becomes a lot of information! It’s a question I get a lot!

I’d love to show you how to make it easy to get started? Hopefully I can walk you through my process and you’ll find it to be super simple. Below are links to the supplies I use and mention in my video:
Canon Pixma iX6820
Additional ink cartridges
Semi-gloss photo paper

photo-feb-04-9-39-10-pm

Check out my video below and see if any of this process makes you feel less intimidated by printing at home!

Oh, and to help make this process even easier for you, download the Photoshop template that I use here. (TIP: be sure to turn Guides ON so you can see the guidelines on the template. Otherwise it will just look like a blank white page.)

Keep on scrapping!
Andrea

 

2 thoughts on “Print at Home Process // UPDATED + free template”

  1. Great post, thank you for all the information. I just purchased a Canon Pixma wide format printer and I am loving the quality of the prints. I tried downloading the template and all I get when I unzip it on my Mac is a blank sheet. I put it into PSE14 and it still appears to be just a blank piece of paper. Any thoughts? Thanks again!

    1. Awesome, glad you like the print quality also! So the blank sheet doesn’t have the green guide lines? That’s odd, I just assumed it would keep the guides no matter what you open it in. I do have an older version on PSE so maybe that’s the issue. 😦

Leave a Reply

