decorating, homemaking, photography

family silhouettes

Another bandwagon I have been trying to get on for so long has finally arrived on my wall.


 Want to make these for your sweet family? Here’s how:

Begin by taking a picture of your subject’s side profile. Like my little model? Yeah, he doesn’t like getting his hair cut.

Use photoshop’s magnetic lasso tool to select only the face and neck shape. If you know photoshop, you probably already know how to do this. And that next you need to make a second transparent layer and copy the selected area to the new layer. Then adjust the hue and saturation to get the image either all black or all white. If you are unfamiliar with PS, there is probably another way to do this efficiently, I just didn’t do it that way.

Do this for each image. Print them onto paper individually.


Cut each profile out and secure them to your desired background. I got mine from Sprik Space and she has them available in so many colors!


Into the frames they go!

And onto the wall with the dated print I made with our special dates.

So there you have it. The only thing I might add later would be everyone’s names. I’d use the cricut and put them at the bottom. But I am enjoying the simple and clean look.

Let me know how yours turn out!

I’m all linked up:

     All Things Heart and Home       Today's Creative Blog  Thirty Hand Made Days  Tidy Mom  Photobucket Sumo Sweet StuffAnything Related  Weekend Bloggy Reading  Todays Creative Blog

6 thoughts on “family silhouettes”

  1. This looks great, I love that you included yourself and hubby. My mom did this with my girls and gave it to me for mother’s day 9 years ago. I just took them down a year ago and saved them in the attic. I like the dates in the frame also, I guess those are the bdays of each of you but not sure about the extra one. My bday is in August too.

Leave a Reply

